Kane County First-Time Homebuyer Program

Offered by the Kane-Elgin HOME Consortium, this DPA program has as much as $10,000 to help eligible applicants with their down payment and closing costs. This is a second mortgage with 0% interest and deferred payments. This loan becomes due when the property is sold, transferred, or when the borrower stops using it as their primary residence.

Only first-time homebuyers who have not owned a house in the previous three years can apply.

As of 2020, applicants must fall with a total annual household income less than 80% of the area median income. These numbers are below:

  • 1 person household: $43,050
  • 2 person household: $49,200
  • 3 person household: $55,350
  • 4 person household: $61,500
  • 5 person household: $66,450
  • 6 person household: $71,350
  • 7 person household: $76,300
  • 8 person household: $81,200

Applicants must have been living in Kane county for a minimum of one year in order to be eligible.

Other programs in Illinois:

Or click here to search a different state.